# 3 Remaining Positive.

How does one remain positive in a world of so many negatives?

 

I was going to go someplace very different with this post when I first typed in the title, but, since I started last night (the thoughts and the title) I have gone to service, served in the nursery, lead a bible study and watched a very thought provoking movie, which I believe was all directed by God’s Holy Spirit. So, I am going to switch gears just a bit.

I will stay inline with the topic, but, I’m taking it in a direction I didn’t think I would, initially.

This world, the things of this world, sometimes the people in this world, we can all be full of negative actions, thoughts and consequences. How can we remain positive in a society that is so overcome, and infiltrated with negativity?

Well, I for one, have learned that we need to redirect our focus. Although the world around us seems to be on a downward spiral toward our own doom, we can remain positive by changing how we view life, people, society, or anything for that matter. If we choose to focus on the negativity that surrounds us, then that will be all that we see.

If we try and view life through the lens’ of God’s eyes and attempt to view how He see’s things, our thoughts toward things can change. Negative situations may just be opportunities for us to shine the light of Christ. To cover others sins with forgiveness and love. To give hope to those who have lost hope. To point them in the direction of the one who changes lives, and how we can view our lives.

We are called to be salt and light. Matthew 5:13
[ Believers Are Salt and Light ] “You are the salt of the earth; but if the salt loses its flavor, how shall it be seasoned? It is then good for nothing but to be thrown out and trampled underfoot by men.

It is our responsibility as believers to point people to Jesus. When we allow circumstances to dictate our optimism and our feelings, we are in direct opposition to our responsibility. Thus we show our emotions, and our feelings, and we take the light off of Him and we place it on us instead. That scripture doesn’t say, you are the salt of the earth when everything in your life is going good. It doesn’t say you are the salt of the Earth when you feel like it. It simply states “you are”. There are no conditions.

Regardless of what the world throws at us, we should remain optimistic. We cannot succumb to the temptation to throw out the Hope that comes from knowing God’s word, believing in it and trusting it as the final authority. To remain positive in the midst of contrary behaviors is an opportunity to point others to Christ.

I don’t know about you, but when I am surrounded by negative people, family, co-workers, or negative circumstances, its all too easy for me to let go of that hope and jump right on that wagon of despair. But, we can overcome these feelings with truth, the Truth that comes only through the word of our Lord Jesus.

Galatians 6:9
And let us not grow weary while doing good, for in due season we shall reap if we do not lose heart.

Remaining positive is possible. It may not always be easy, but, it is possible.

Hebrews 10:35
Therefore do not cast away your confidence, which has a great reward.

Both of these scriptures end with a benefit. We shall “reap”, and have a “great reward”. Does that mean that everything will end the way we hope. Contrary. In the end, we will have remained true to Christ believing in His word, no matter what. We will be strong, and trust that ultimately, His plan is for us to become more like Christ. Things may never be perfect around us, but we do serve a perfect God who promises to always be with us, regardless of the negativity that is in the world.

Deuteronomy 31:8
And the Lord, He is the One who goes before you. He will be with you, He will not leave you nor forsake you; do not fear nor be dismayed.”

As He constantly told the Israelites, He too, will never leave us. He will be with us in the land of negativity.

Let us remain positive. And in those times when we feel as though we cannot, He will be our strength.

2 Corinthians 12:9
And He said to me, “My grace is sufficient for you, for My strength is made perfect in weakness.”

I cannot change a lot that goes on around me but I can change my attitude towards those things.

I want to remain positive, knowing that ultimately, all things will work together for my good and His glory. I want to be about His purpose.

Romans 8:28
And we know that all things work together for good to those who love God, to those who are the called according to His purpose.

May we all go out and shine His light, regardless of where we are.

Hopeful42morrow

Leave a comment